PIR Sensor

Infrared is the invisible radiation lies between the Visible and Microwave portions of the electromagnetic spectrum. The term Infra means below the ability to detect visually and the term Red means colour of the light with low energy level. The Near infrared is close to the red portion of visible light and the Far infrared is close to the microwave region. Far infrared is thermal and we feel it as heat by the temperature sensors in our skin. Short and Near infrared rays cannot be detected since these are invisible as well as cool. Active infrared rays are produced from semiconductor sources but natural objects like animals including human beings emit infrared rays from the body heat. Humans at normal body temperature emits Infrared rays at the wavelength of 10 microns.PIR Sensors are used in surveillance systems to detect moving persons in protected areas.

See more in this link http://www.engineersgarage.com/contribution/pir-sensor

14 responses to “PIR Sensor

  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of PIR Sensor | dmohankumar.com . Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  2. Hey there are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you require any coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  3. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to say that I get actually loved account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing in your feeds and even I success you get right of entry to constantly quickly. Sorry for bad English I am visiting your page from Japan😀

  4. I have been surfing on-line more than 3 hours lately, but I by no means discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made just right content material as you probably did, the web shall be much more useful than ever before.

    • Dear Ziddik
      IR rays are light rays similar to visible light, but out spectral response is low to IR rays so the rays appear as invisible.It is better to avoid IR rays falling on the eye but not harmful as Laser.

  5. Dear Dr. Mohankumar,

    First I thank you about writing very interesting articles on electronics. Could you please write an artical on “PIR-based burglar alarm” with simple PIR-based burglar alarm circuit diagram. I think this topic is useful to most readers.

    Ananda Athukorala
    Sri Lanka

    • Dear Ananda
      Your feedback is inspiring. I am mainly concentrating on electronics and biology articles since the stat of site shows that the rating is high in electronics articles than circuits. There are more than 600-800 visits per day in some articles. Many circuits are available in net but most of them are repetitions using the old fashioned transistor designs. Most of these transistors are now obsolete in this Micro controller world.PIR sensor module is readily available and the only requirement is a driver circuit and alarm generator. I will post a circuit for you soon.